Call Us Now


Mail Us Today

Just Whatsapp


Albert Ludwing_s Universitat Freiburg


Founded in 1457, Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg was first set up in Freiburg Cathedral as the ‘Albertina’. Initially, the university was established as a comprehensive university with four faculties, including law, theology, medicine, and philosophy. The university was founded to educate young administrators and theologists and the lessons took place in Latin. Currently, the university has 11 faculties and 18 research centers, where the instruction and research take place. Many reputable organizations such as ASIIN, ACQUIN, AQAS, ZEVA, and EUR-ACE have accredited the programs offered by the university. Also, it holds the membership of Eucor – The European Campus.

The university has three large campuses and other buildings across Freiburg. The three campuses include the University Centre, located near the historical city Centre, the engineering campus, and the institute quarter. The University Centre houses Jugendstil Kollegiengebäude I, the old and the current university library, and the university church. The institute quarter is home to the physics and chemistry buildings, Institute for Macromolecular Chemistry, some other science buildings, and the Faculty of Medicine’s preclinical institutes. Situated to the city Centre’s northwest near the small Freiburg airfield, the engineering campus has Institut für Mikrosystemtechnik, and Department of Computer Science. With around 11,500 employees, the Medical Center – University of Freiburg is among the largest university medical centers in Germany. Around 1300 doctors and 2900 nurses provide healthcare services to more than 69,900 inpatients and 837,000 outpatients each year.

Notably, the university offers 130 master degree programs and provides education in more than 290 fields of study. It offers bachelor’s and master’s degrees in fields like ancient civilization, archaeology, political science, business, art, biology, theology, computer science, and cultural studies. It houses over 24,000 students and 11 teams of faculty members. The university has a huge network of regional, national and international collaborations. It maintains alliances with various universities across 30 countries. These collaborations facilitate excellent study abroad programs and student and faculty exchange programs. More than 25 percent of the total students in the university are from countries other than Germany, representing more than 40 nationalities. The university also strives to provide students with outstanding job and internship opportunities.

The university has a wide-reaching alumni network with several notable people associated with it. Joseph Goebbels was a German Nazi politician and Hitler’s closest associate. Martin Heidegger was a renowned German philosopher. Edmund Husserl established the school of phenomenology. Hannah Arendt was a famous American political theorist and philosopher. Paul Ehrlich was a successful physician and scientist and a Nobel Prize winner. Paul Ehrlich was a pioneering biologist in the cellular respiration study. Paul Ehrlich won a Nobel Prize in physiology. Ethel Dench Puffer Howes was a popular American feminist organizer and psychologist. The university is also linked to many other distinguished personalities along with numerous Leibniz Prize winners and Nobel laureates.